GOD TO MEET YOU; IT’S A PRESSURE!! OH..AND BLOG ANNIVERSARY ON WORLD BLOG DAY


Some people are doing their own things on earth paa oo. When judgement day comes eh, they will all slack like no one’s business.

Can you imagine? Today is the anniversary of my blog. I started this one last year and I’ve enjoyed every article I have written so far. When I go back and read, I see the many places I’ve been, the stuff I’ve seen, the amazing colour of this country Ghana. It’s utterly amazing but Ghanaians are some of the most remarkable people in the world, no jokes!

I love African markets
I love African markets

I was walking around Makola last week and run into a chaotic scene of a woman complaining bitterly and the others listening, telling her, ‘Amalia, it’s ok, eh? It’s ok!!’ I wondered what it was all about and in catching wisps of the conversation, I realised she had been duped. Someone had taken no small amount of her money and her day was ruined, while she rained countless blasphemies on the dude’s head. I was like, “Easy, Madam, easy. God will meet him somewhere and it will be his pressure to answer!”

The same day, I was in a trotro towards Circle and the mate was in this huge quarrel with a lady on board when I got on. So huge that the mate could hardly concentrate and give me an answer when I asked how much my fare was! And you see, the lady was a Northerner. Thing is, there are very many Northern dialects that we southerners don’t understand a word of!! Kai, the lady used the advantage!! She cursed and swore, rained expletives and abominable profanities in another tongue on the poor mate to heart’s content!! Everyone in the bus just kept telling the mate to cease retorting. ‘Don’t mind her. Don’t mind her!’ After a while, the mate listened, but not without occasionally replying her back with “Ekraa, wo ti bɔɔ fɛm” loool. Oh sorry, it means ‘whatever, your head still hit the ground’. Hehe…his simple case was that, for a lady to be so ill-mannered and uncontrollably insulting, she must have hit her head on the ground when she was born….haha. All her brain was distorted. And no matter what the lady insulted, this was all the mate will say. Before long, the entire bus was laughing with the mate, at the lady. She was incensed. Once we got to Circle, she stuck her head out and called by first name to some policeman directing the rising traffic at rush hour, asking him to hurry up, na there was this document-less trotro she was driving in. He should hurry up, hurry up. The policeman was baffled, not hearing her from the distance and over all the noise of cars on the road, not finding any fun in having to follow this car that just kept moving. Oh, by then, the mate and driver were as quiet as the reception room to hell, afraid that if they were not smart, they would have to visit the police counters!! Their luck was that the policeman gave up the lady’s calling and they had the chance to speed away to dump us all at the station a safe distance away, whew. When you do the wrong thing and then for God to meet you, it’s a serious pressure!

Ok, that’s supposed to be ‘good to meet you,’ and the response is ‘it’s a pleasure’.

Black Star at heart
Black Star at heart

Ahaa, today is world blog day!! There are a couple of blogs you should read alongside this one. Make it count. Ghana is a beautiful country. So, new blogs, god to meet you and I daresay that’s a lot of pressure right there. Keep writing and happy world blog day, everyone.

The Vim Views & Versions – Blogs of a MIghTy African curated by Ato Ulzen-Appiah


The Gamelian World
curated by Gameli Adzaho

Cerebral Sparks curated by my own buddy Agana Agana-Nsiire

What Yo’ Mamma Never Told You About Ghana curated by Esi Cleland and having timeless resourcs on Ghana and our peculiarities too. Esi has sadly given up writing on this blog.

Nanawireko curated by (yes, you know who) Nana Wireko

And then finally,

African Soulja curated by me, as a journey through reviewing African poetry.

Do enjoy, people. Good to meet….ok…wharever…

8 thoughts on “GOD TO MEET YOU; IT’S A PRESSURE!! OH..AND BLOG ANNIVERSARY ON WORLD BLOG DAY

  1. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the future too. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own blog going now. Actually blogging is spreading its wings and growing rapidly. Your write up is a good example.

    1. Wow…that’s amazing. So honoured to know you love my writing. And I’m off to check out your blog right away. Thanks for the comment too. Happy blogging.

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

