HOW DIFFERENT WILL GHANA BE WHEN I GET BACK??!!


Old Cedi Notes
Old Cedi Notes

Hey amanfo, Abena is back!! This is her second post and tell her to sulk all she wants because aha yɛ dɛdɛɛɛdɛ and she has no idea. This time, she projects how Ghana will be when she’s back. On your marks, get set, fi!!

Hello people, thank you all for the responses to my previous post. If you haven’t read my previous post, abeg, please go check it out and comment, or else you won’t understand the joke at the end of this post.

I left Ghana in December 2006 (haven’t gone back oo, oh morbor, anybody have a spare ticket, hehe, I’m on summer vacation now, so the time is more than perfect). The NPP was in power, and I think we somewhat recovered from HIPC not too long ago. I quite remember the HIPC jokes KSM made on T.V, and how HIPC was in almost every Ghanaian’s vocabulary. (“oh Bra Kwame, mame sika nkɔtɔ tɔfee ɛh?” -“Hwɛ, me hipc akye me”.. tr: how would u even translate this koraa into English? Me I don’t know oo, Dela, can you help me out here? lol ). The kokonte and nkatekwan school uniform was no more; blue and white for Presbyterian schools, yellow and blue for Methodist schools. In 2006, we were about to change our currency, and I STILL remember the currency song. (“ten thousand cedis becomes one Ghana cedi, two thousand cedis becomes twenty Ghana pesewas, *blah blah blah** that would be the new currency” – how creative is that?) Oh, and the National ID card song. (“if you are a Ghanaian, get your national ID card, if you are over fifteen years, get your national ID card, Ghanaians in abroad oo, get your national ID card…” – I have to admit, I kinda liked that song, and it had lyrics on screen! Aha, I thought that was the coolest thing).

So Ghana was going through changes at that time, and now in 2011, or any year after this, if I were to go back to Ghana, what would I expect to be different? When I left Ghana I was in class 6, about to go to JSS 1. (yes, I say JSS, aboa ben so ni JHS? I still don’t understand why it was changed. What about those acronyms for schools? Like ABUGISS for Aburi Girls Secondary School? Would it change to ABUGISH? Ahah, that doesn’t even sound right). Well, that’s one change I would have to deal with.
• JSS = JHS, and SSS = SHS.
• Currency change. ₵ = GH₵
• More television channels. Back in 2006, even in Accra koraa there were about five or six TV channels. GTV, TV3, Metro, TV Africa, and a couple of channels I’ve forgotten. Now you have DSTV and numerous channels
• Ghana is now considered a middle class country, so I would expect more and more people with cell phones, and hoping that the cell phone snatching business becomes less common.
• Immigrants. My parents recently went to Ghana, (and they didn’t take me oo, hmm because of this thing they call school aka sukuu like my grandma would say) and they mentioned the increase in the Nigerian and Lebanese populations in Ghana.
• Malls. Ahah heii, how many malls do we have in Ghana now? I know of the Accra Mall, but I’ve also heard something about the A&C mall. In 2006, where are you going to find malls? Ahaa, must be joking.
• Music. Yɛfrɛ biribi twi pop? When I first heard about Twi pop I just laughed at the name of this music genre. It just sounds funny. Really it does. You just say it out loud. Twi pop. Some even add an extra “o” at the end. Sounds like Twi pɔpo. But I do like this genre.
• Fashion. I’m loving the current fashion scene in Ghana right now. With the likes of Mina Evans, Afrochic, ReneeQ, and all the afro centric Ghanaian fashion designers.

So these are some of the things I would expect to be different when I return to Ghana. Personally, my circle of friends and social life in Ghana wouldn’t be the same. My friends are now in boarding school, we don’t talk as much as we used to when I was in Ghana, and the distance and lack of communication would hinder the closeness of our friendship. My older brother was teasing me about this when I was ranting about my homesickness to him one time, and he said “You koraa if you go to Ghana, you won’t have any friends. You only went to one school for the majority of your school life in Ghana, me, I went to three schools, so I have friends in all of these schools. You would have to make new friends”. I just looked at him and told him to shut up and that he was wrong. Aha, but then later I realized that he was right. Making new friends shouldn’t be hard, right? Besides, who says I have to make new friends? I’ve known my friends in Ghana since childhood, I’m sure we can revitalize our friendship.
Kalikway to you all.

4 thoughts on “HOW DIFFERENT WILL GHANA BE WHEN I GET BACK??!!

  1. interestin memory u hve…rly, i’m impressed. guess its the adv of nt bein in the countr, u value the little u got.

  2. Heh Tiwaa, u’re hilarious :D!!!! This is really funny but I bet you you’ll have even more surprises when u come back to Gh. Like the fact that we cool people (yup, u hav a cool cousin ;)) noo longer say Ghaaana ooo, we say G-H, like U-K? kno wat I mean;)? lol!
    Ps. u shd totally start a blog. that is, if u havn’t startd one already. i’ll be first to follow u! Keep up with the hilarious writing 🙂

    1. hehehhe, Abena and Bennie, Thank you:D
      Abena, you see, i’m honing my skills here, and hopefully later, i might just have a blog of my own. But i love Dela’s blog too oo, so i’m staying here for now. lol

    2. You know what?? Abena already has her brand of G-H!! She calls it “jee aych”. Read that!! She’s so in touch! Wonderful Ghanababaa!!

Leave a Reply

