Beat the Harmattan with AfroChic Harmattan Collection


Beat the Crap Outta the Harmattan
Beat the Crap Outta the Harmattan

I hate the Harmattan! Every year it beats me dry! This year, I have a mind to beat the harmattan to it la. Every year, I crack my lip before I realise that the dryness has been around. This year deɛɛ, no way! So I’m doing all my harmattan recruitment before time, nkuto and all.

Welcome: Rock the Beauty
Welcome: Rock the Beauty

Ok, in the spirit of harmattan, I received a facebook invite to a clothing exhibition…ok wait…this is not just one of them oo. This is AfroChic. Ah, you’re still asking what it is? Ok, let me update you sharp sharp. The thing that caught my two eyes was the name. The exhibition was tagged The Harmattan Collection and right there, it was an instant hit for me! So, one more place to visit for Harmattan shopping. Let’s go wae, na adzɛn!!

Better than Persian Gold
Better than Persian Gold

I went to take a look. First thing I did was look up directions online. And when I got to the place camera in hand, my my…the green carpet!! Freshly manicured grass that seemed to mock and defy the harmattan spread out before me…and the exhibition was outdoor…just revolutionary. So, in the beautiful sun and shade, I stepped on the green carpet and made for the show. Some lady and gentleman manikins stood there to usher me in and I felt welcome at first sight.

Green Carpet Manikin Welcome
Green Carpet Manikin Welcome

So I checked out the designs hanging from the racks. Different colours, different shades, different designs and different sizes. Look, this sounds like hype when you read from AfroChic’s website! Daada wo ho!! I saw them fiili fiili with my naked eyes. I was stuck at the dresses section for a long time, wondering how such beautiful outfits hadn’t all been snapped up already. I walked over to Esi Cleland and asked her how she got such awesome names for each and every design. Professor Charming, Harmattan Pawpaw (yep, I saw that coming…lol), Floral Punctuation and more. My favourite was one called Incredible Rosy or so. Everyone who tried that one stood out like a red rose in the midst of whites. The clothes caught me in their bright patterns and I knew I had a good time coming.

Esi
Esi

As time went, people kept coming and going, each person finding something that fit and getting helped to find a perfect fit. Everyone walked away satisfied. I heard Esi tell one lady that she wouldn’t be allowed to walk away with that dress because it looked all tacky on her…now that’s customer care!! So I was smiling all through. I saw that friends came and flattered themselves with a design or two, first-timers came and were so lost in variety that, they lost track of time. As for me, I just observed. I took enough pictures to share with you all and keep you waiting for the next exhibition. There’s one every three months, yep! So start preparing for the next when you hear of it! And please, I’ve already taken all the pictures so when you go, don’t go and sightsee, w’ate? Go and buy some for your wardrobe. It will wash your sins away!

Colours
Colours

If you want to see the whole album, I put it here on facebook for you all. Don’t miss it.
Ok, for those who have seen the pictures and were asking if I’ve now become a male model, please please please….why??

Oh oh…before I forget, you can make an online order and get it shipped for a small fee for you. Nobody gets left out of AfroChic. I walked away from that exhibition feeling so covered for the harmattan.

So I’m continuing my harmattan shopping. And those of you who are still sitting at home waiting for the sand to rain Saharan dryness on you, repent and go get yourself AfroChic. I’m going to enjoy this year’s harmattan and right now, I’m out, just like that…in style!

Out...Just Gone!
Out...Just Gone!

3 thoughts on “Beat the Harmattan with AfroChic Harmattan Collection

Leave a Reply

